Hello, can we help you ?

 

The Psoas, A massive Muscle

The psoas is a massive muscle that greatly influences the body. It is also the only muscle to connect the spine and legs. It is sometimes called the "muscle of the soul" because it has a special relationship with the skeletal system, the diaphragm, the organs, and the nervous system. The psoas is also intimately linked to our reactions to stressful events, which makes it a key element in certain therapeutic approaches to the body.

Dysfunctions

Psoas dysfunction can contribute to various physical conditions including:
·         Pelvic floor dysfunction;
·         lower back, hip, knee, and sacroiliac joint pain;
·         unevenness in the length of the legs;
·         menstrual pain;
·         digestion problems; as well as
·         emotional imbalances.

 

 

In fact, an overly contracted psoas can create hyperlordosis or left-right imbalance and affect the alignment of the whole body. Moreover, when we mention a dysfunction of this muscle, we often refer to the muscle that is too contracted. Note that we actually have two psoae (one on each side). It can, therefore, be contracted too much on one side, creating an imbalance that can affect the neck. It can also be too contracted on both sides at the same time, which could have the effect of a very arched lower back (hyperlordosis).

An accident, traumatic experiences, or even habits (like a simple sitting posture, for example) are all factors that can lead to the overly tense psoas. If the psoas is too tight, it should be released before stretching.

Posez nous votre question

 

Le psoas, un muscle massif

Le psoas est un muscle massif qui influence énormément le corps. C’est d’ailleurs le seul muscle à relier la colonne vertébrale et les jambes. On lui donne parfois le surnom de « muscle de l’âme » car il entretient une relation particulière avec le système squelettique, le diaphragme, les organes et le système nerveux. Le psoas est d’ailleurs intimement relié à nos réactions face à des événements stressants, ce qui en fait un élément clé dans certaines approches thérapeutiques du corps.

 

Dysfonctionnement

Un dysfonctionnement du psoas peut contribuer à différentes conditions physiques dont notamment :
·         dysfonctionnement du plancher pelvien;
·         douleurs au bas de dos, aux hanches, aux genoux et aux joints sacro-iliaques;
·         inégalités dans la longueur des jambes;
·         douleurs menstruelles;
·         problèmes de digestion; ainsi que
·         débalancements émotionnels.

 

 

En fait, un psoas trop contracté peut créer une hyperlordose ou un débalancement gauche-droite et affecter l’alignement du corps entier. D’ailleurs, quand on mentionne un dysfonctionnement de ce muscle, on réfère souvent au muscle qui serait trop contracté. À noter que nous avons en fait deux psoas (un de chaque côté). Il peut donc être trop contracté d’un seul côté créant ainsi un débalancement pouvant se répercuter jusque dans le cou. Il peut aussi être trop contracté des deux côtés à la fois, ce qui pourrait avoir comme effet un bas de dos très cambré (hyperlordose).

Un accident, des expériences traumatiques ou encore des habitudes (comme une simple posture assise, par exemple) sont tous des facteurs qui peuvent mener à un psoas trop tendu. Si le psoas est trop contracté, il faudra le relâcher avant de l’étirer.